What Will You Do With Your Extra 24 Hours?

Since tomorrow is Leap Day, it got me thinking, “what will I do with my extra 24 hours?” Just the thought of it fills me with stress. I mean, I can’t waste it, right? I have to do something creative or meaningful. When someone, or in this case, something (really, I have no idea) hands you an extra day, you seize it! Seize the day! Isn’t that what they say? I wonder if that’s where that phrase originated? A leap year, long ago?

So now that I’m filled with anxiety about wasting this once-in-a-four-year opportunity, what will I do? Gee, I really should have started planning this four years ago. Think of what I could have accomplished in 24 hours if I had 4 years of planning behind it. This is like pulling an all-niter, studying for finals that you had a month to prepare for. Another New Year’s Resolution  broken –  so much for 2012 being the year when I become organized.

Okay let’s see. I am the editor of Where & When, Pennsylvania‘s Travel Guide, for goodness sake, surely I can think of some way to make this day special.  I could visit world-class museums in Philly or Pittsburgh, go shopping in King of Prussia, or maybe take in a spa day at one of the Pocono resorts. No. Wait. I should probably visit one of PA’s amazing yet obscure destinations. Gosh, there’s so many things to choose from. But it really doesn’t matter, because I’ve already broken my New Year’s resolution, which means I did not schedule a vacation day.

I guess, I will approach this day like I should approach every day, like the gift it is. Isn’t every day a bonus? Each morning we’re given the opportunity to start fresh – to make a difference using the abilities and talents we have. And who knows, maybe the creativity and meaningfulness will just happen, because I’m open to it.

So, yes, I am going to seize this day!

About WherenWendy

I am the blogger for Where & When, Pennsylvania's Travel Guide, a quarterly print magazine and online source for what's going on in PA.
This entry was posted in Leap Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Will You Do With Your Extra 24 Hours?

  1. Pingback: GoodBye February…Hello March-ing to the beat of a new drummer « Wrestling the Muse

  2. Pingback: GoodBye February…Hello March-ing to the beat of a new drummer | Kim Koning

Leave a Reply

