TGI Monday!

It’s no secret among those who know me that I am a Monday person. To the annoyance of many Facebook friends I delight in welcoming the beginning of each new week. I’ve never been a TGIF type person any more than I am a career-driven person. I just relish in the possibilities of a new week. A fresh start, if you will. That’s not to say that I don’t have my share of Tuesdays when I question, “Shouldn’t it be Thursday?”

I guess that’s why I love the start of a new year. The possibilities. With all the ominous 2012 predictions and prognostications, I’m grateful that I’m not a “Girl Friday.”  To know we have the opportunity to do 2012 better than 2011. I am a firm believer in realism, but I also know that realism is based in now; what is. I also believe in what could be, what should be and what will be.

I’m not sure who coined the phrase, “Let’s make better mistakes tomorrow.” but I’d like to think that they saw the possibilities in our mistakes. 2011 was riddled with them, from the Netflix debacle, to my own impatience resulting in a speeding ticket. Is there something to be gleaned from these mistakes? Of course, Netflix learned that when you make changes to your product or service that affect your customers, you better know your customers.  Or, like Netflix, you stand to lose a great deal. The movie rental giant lost more than 800,000 domestic subscribers in the 3rd quarter of 2011. What did I learn? Well besides that fact that my wallet was a couple hundred dollars lighter, even if I had not been pulled over, I would have arrived at my destination only three minutes early. Three lousy minutes. That means I was willing to pay $1.31/second for the additional time. So I eagerly approach 2012 with the belief that we have all learned something valuable from 2011 that will help us to do a better job this year.

If you’re getting a little queasy because I’m beginning to sound like an eternal optimist, I’m sorry. I’m that girl who annoyingly posts “Happy Monday” on her Facebook and Twitter pages.

Happy 2012!

About WherenWendy

I am the blogger for Where & When, Pennsylvania's Travel Guide, a quarterly print magazine and online source for what's going on in PA.
This entry was posted in 2012, Business, Holiday, Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TGI Monday!

  1. bizzcomm says:

    What a fantastic attitude to start the new year! I guess it really is all in the way you look at things. We can think about what will go right this week instead of what will go wrong.

Leave a Reply

